Fear & Celebration

A 14 track electronic album (1h 17m 9s) — released June 8th 2018 on DO RIGHT! MUSIC

Surrounded by the throb of heavy machinery, the scent of dried fish, and the humidity of the South China Sea, electronic outfit Blood Wine or Honey have honed their manic hypno-tropicalia in the industrial warehouses and hidden rural hamlets of Hong Kong.

BWoH are multi-instrumentalists / vocalists James Banbury (synths, bass, cello, etc), Shane Aspegren (drums, synths, electronics, etc) and Joseph von Hess (saxophone, wind instruments, percussion, etc). Collectively, their witch's brew of brazen sax themes, lo-fi/hi-tech electronics, motorik drums, group-sung vocals, wonky tactics and party palpitations results in a ritualistically euphoric sound experience, taking notes from post-punk, dance floor experimentation, bass/soundsystem music and tropical polyrhythms.

Their hotly anticipated debut album, 'Fear & Celebration', is the culmination of a painstaking process of writing, recording and production for the trio. After the band's live debut at Sonar Festival Hong Kong, their breakout track 'Anxious Party People' shocked dancefloors all over the world, receiving a shortlist nomination at Gilles Peterson's Worldwide Awards for 'Track Of The Year' and catching the attention of major radio outlets such as BBC 6 Music (UK), Radio Nova (FR), KCRW (US), CR2 903 (HK), Worldwide FM, and NTS, as well as being featured on Bandcamp Weekly. This is deep dance-floor for every mind's ear.

This deluxe edition includes 5 additional remixes (CD Only)

- Orwellian Woman (Medlar Remix)
- The Undying Overrated (BiggaBush Remix)
- Anxious Party People (Factory Floor / Gabe Gurnsey Remix)
- Peak Helium IV (Fancy Cat Remix)
- The Young Ones (Preservation Remix feat. Mike Ladd)

***NO EXPORTS TO JAPAN ON CD*** Japanese version available via Tugboat Records

Post-punk sax mingled with ghostly choruses and lo-fi hi-tech electronics...this is a party worth joining - Mojo

The sheer unbridled fun that these guys have bled into this song (Fear & Celebration) will pull you jumping and diving through its 7 minutes, wanting much more to follow. - The 405

This is an album full of refreshing, sometimes challenging, but often forward-thinking ideas, which will create a thought-provoking companion once you’ve exhausted yourself from dancing - Young Post South China Morning Post

  • Kudos happily ship all items worldwide.
  • Shipping costs and delivery times are available here.
  • UK items are sent tracked as standard at no extra cost.
  • We aim to dispatch orders placed before 2pm on the same day.
  • We are unable to ship orders on weekends or Bank Holidays.
  • If you purchase a pre-order item amongst an order of in-stock releases, we will typically hold your order until all items are in ready to send.
  • Although we use all reasonable means to ensure that your order is delivered within a specified time, we cannot accept any responsibility for late deliveries due to circumstances outside of our control. We will do our best to inform you of any unexpected delay.